Posted in Conceptualise, plan and implement learning programme, Professional development, Uncategorized

English Department Professional Development session

At our school we have professional development sessions every second Wednesday morning. Our head of department, Meryl Howell, requested that we each take a session and in this way draw on each others’ strengths and skills. It is a wonderful idea to collaborate in this way, but also quite scary to present to those closest to you in your professional capacity. I’m pleased to say that once I got over the initial nerves, they were a very welcoming audience.

I had recently returned from the Apple Distinguished Educators’ Institute in Berlin so I was brimming with ideas. I kicked the session off some sketchnoting using the app Procreate. Karen Bosch (@karlyb) did a spotlight session on sketch noting and this is a great tool for mind mapping. I like to draw and write as I plan or listen to ideas, as do many students. So this is an app I’d recommend.

Next we looked at Don Goble’s spotlight session where he took Hemingway’s six word story and extended it to a six unique shots film. His students’ work is fantastic and it is wonderful to use as exemplars. I have included some of the resources I got and adapted from Don Goble at the end of this post. (@dgoble2001)

Screen Shot 2016-08-04 at 4.36.22 pm.png
Image from @dgoble2001

This lesson could be taken a number of ways.

  1. You could first look at Hemingway’s story on a creative writing level. How many interpretations have been suggested for the story: “For sale: baby shoes, never worn.”
  2. Next you could look at newspaper headlines where they very often are made up of six words. Since this session I find myself counting the number of words in headlines and invariably come away with the answer six. Those media stories could be a lesson in and of themselves.
  3. Then we spoke about getting students to write six word stories and story board these. The aim is to create a film with only six shots. So each shot has to be powerful to tell the full story.

As a group we decided that this would work with our year 10 students. I will post examples of my students’ projects next term.

Here is a link to the powerpoint I used: 6-word-story

 

Leave a Reply

