Posted in Analyse assessment information, Demonstrate knowledge of how akonga learn, Uncategorized

Analysis of NCEA internal and external results

I have done an analysis of the grades obtained by my three senior classes over the course of the year.

The Year 11s had some very pleasing results with 68% of all their credits being at Excellence and 29% at Merit.Level 1.jpgThey wrote three external exams which I still believe is asking too much in three hours. Two exams in three hours seems far more realistic to me. I do believe that is why the excellence grades are diluted.

1-enadOn analysis of my Year 12 students, it was clear that they improved as the year progressed.I attribute this to their growing confidence in their abilities. I discussed Carol Dweck’s Growth Mindset with them and referred to this way of thinking in my teaching practice. They were also a class who preferred the casual layout of my classroom.

Level 2.jpg

The year 12s wrote one exam with some mixed results. As most of them had got all the necessary credits throughout the year, the pressure was slightly less for the exams.

2-envp

My year 13 class had success with getting through the standards, with 66% passing all internal standards with Achieved, and 30% getting to Merit. As this year level was my cohort, we already had established positive relationships. I believe that this  goes a long way in promoting students’ confidence in their abilities.

Level 3.jpgMuch the same as the year 12 class, the year 13 internal class had gained most of the available credits throughout the year.

3-enin

From this analysis it seems evident that developing mini teaching as inquiry approaches is successful. This means that I am continuously refining my approach.

Leave a Reply

